Kids Collaborating with Kids

10327141-Illustration-of-Kids-Joining-Forces-Stock-Illustration-kids-cartoon-clipartAs I reflected on our time in first grade this week, I continued to notice the large amounts of time we spent teaching one another and working with other students.  Whether it was first graders working with one another or students of differing ages, there was a lot of group work taking place. What a great theme for the week, huh?  So, this post will be short and sweet so you can see the heart of our work this week as your first grader worked with others.  As always, thanks for visiting our blog!

  • Conversation Starters
  • Kids Collaborating with Kids
  • A Smile for You

Conversation Starters:

  • You have read five books from the Ordinary People Change the World book series over the past two weeks.  (You can click on the link for a reminder about the books.) Which has been your favorite person to learn about and why?
  • As you researched your important person this week, you have used iPads, biography books and reference books.  What are three things you have learned about your important person?
  • What are you writing a review about during your Writing Workshop?  How did you decide to begin and end your review piece to get your reader’s attention?

Kids Collaborating with Kids: As I mentioned earlier, I don’t feel like there is much to say about the great work we did this week as we collaborated with other students.  Check out the photos and captions below and I you will learn everything you’d like to know about our week.  Enjoy.

We began our week by doing some online research with our learning buddies by using World Book Online.
We began our week by doing some online research with our learning buddies by using World Book Online. Sorry the picture is a little blurry. 😦
Look at Olivia working with her buddy on her research.
Look at Olivia working with her buddy on her research.
Check out Charlie and his happy buddy!  We work so well together!
Check out Charlie and his happy buddy! We work so well together!
We also collaborated on math problems this week.  Mathematicians Quinn and Maddie are discussing their strategies.
We also collaborated on math problems this week. Mathematicians Quinn and Maddie are discussing their strategies.
Mathematicians Lissa and Solis are also working together to share their math thinking.
Mathematicians Lissa and Solis are also working together to share their math thinking.
In the middle of the week, we went to the library to do some research with biographies and reference books.
In the middle of the week, we went to the library to do some research with biographies and reference books.
Here are some more hard-working researchers.
Here are some more hard-working researchers.
We rounded out our week by having some fifth graders come and read bullying books to us.  They also asked us questions about our learning.
We rounded out our week by having some fifth graders come and read bullying books to us. They also asked us questions about our learning.
Here is another fifth grader reading a bullying book to us and following up with questions.
Here is another fifth grader reading a bullying book to us and following up with questions.

A Smile for You: I am not posting a photo of my dog  this week.  However, I do have a photo related to my dog.  (I hope I don’t bore you with dog information!)  During the four months I have had Rosie, I have had some challenges with her behavior.  One example is that she howls.  Seriously.  Boy was I surprised to learn that she howls while I am gone!  I  started using many different strategies to help decrease the howling and decided to do some reading too.  I ordered a previously owned book about behavioral dog problems and when I got it in the mail, I laughed really, really hard.  I noticed that the spine of the book had clearly been chewed on by a dog.  Ironic, huh?  So . . . I hope this photo makes you smile too, since it did for me.  Have a great weekend!  Thanks for visiting our blog this week.

After getting a dog training book in the mail, I laughed to myself because the spine of the book was clearly chewed on by a dog.  I guess the book wasn't helpful for the previous book owners!
After getting a dog training book in the mail, I laughed because the spine of the book had clearly been chewed on by a dog. I guess the book wasn’t helpful for the previous book owners!
Please comment about what you're thinking!

