¡La Ultima Semana de Quinto Grado!

ani-sun¡La Ultima Semana de Quinto Grado! = The Last Day of Fifth Grade! Really?!?  Was last week the FINAL week of fifth grade for these kiddos?  It seems like just a few weeks ago we were meeting one another at Open House.  Holy smokes!  I’ll do a little reflecting at the end of this post, but until then, check out what we did last week.  As always, thanks for reading. 

  • Conversation Starters
  • Field Day
  • An Overview of Kickball
  • Universe Work
  • My Brief Reflection & A Smile for You!

Conversation Starters:

  • What was your favorite part of Field Day?  What did you enjoy about this?
  • What was is like playing the Robinson teachers in a game of kickball?
  • Tell me about the presentation you gave about the universe and your planet?  Is there sustainable life on your planet?  Why or why not?
  • What has been your favorite part of fifth grade?  Why?

Field Day: Last Friday, we had our annual Field Day at Robinson!   What a sunny (and STEAMY) day to hang out together playing games.  Ask your fifth grader about the special day and check out a few of the photos below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

An Overview of Kickball: Last Thursday, we had another end of year activity at school.  This one was a kickball game of Robinson Staff vs. Fifth Grade Students.  Interesting, huh?  (Ask your child who won – hee, hee.)  Before the game, the kids practiced kickball in P.E. class and there was a bit of confusion about the rules.  Some children were very worried and concerned for the afternoon game against the teachers.  So, when we got back to our classroom after P.E., we had a brief overview of kickball rules and a Q & A session.  It was pretty cute watching the kiddos teaching one another, as you can see below. 🙂

We had a brief re-teaching session about how to play kickball before the BIG game in the afternoon.
We had a brief re-teaching session about how to play kickball before the BIG game in the afternoon.

Universe Work:  We finished and presented our learning about the universe last week.  Part of the learning included creating an imaginary planet and justifying the decisions made.  For example, if there is sustainable life on the planet – why?  Check out a few of the presenters below.  And, boy are these kids creative!  We loved hearing about their imaginary planets . . . what fun!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My Brief Reflection & A Smile for You:  When I was in Ecuador last year, I found out that I would have the opportunity to teach fifth grade at Robinson when I returned to the U.S.  I was excited . . . and a little nervous.  This would be the first time I taught this grade level and didn’t know what to fully expect.  Now that I have “lived” in fifth grade for a year, I can honestly say that I truly enjoyed the age of my students and the way they think.  What fun it has been to learn together and work with one another this year.  That’s not to say that there weren’t challenges for all of us along the way, but I am going to truly miss the students in my classroom.  I am making a grade level change next year (feel free to ask me about that), but it is definitely not because I didn’t enjoy fifth grade.  I thoroughly did . . . and hope to be back in fifth grade sometime soon.   Thank you for all of your collaboration and support this year.  Please feel free to keep in touch with me via email because I’d love to hear how your fifth grader grows during the middle school journey.  Have a wonderful summer.

I have a feeling that if this were the FIRST picture you saw of me as your child's fifth grade picture, you would have been a little leery of me.  Hopefully, now you know that I am not kooky and just enjoy having fun . . . like inside of a tortoise shell. :)
I have a feeling that if this were the FIRST picture you saw of me as your child’s fifth grade picture, you would have been a little leery of me. Hopefully, now you know that I am not kooky and just enjoy having fun . . . like inside of a tortoise shell. 🙂

 

Please comment about what you're thinking!

