Ecuador: ¡Te quiero!

Ecuador: ¡Te quiero! = Ecuador: I love you!

Today is FOUR weeks after my week-long trip to Ecuador during Spring Break.  Below, you will find some photos, since describing the trip doesn’t do it justice.  I traveled to The Galapagos Islands to visit a friend who is teaching English on the island of Isabela.  (Click here for some information about the island.)  While my friend taught each day, I explored places within walking distance . . . and found some incredible things.  Here is a glimpse of what I saw during my week away.  I hope you enjoy the photos . . . and let me warn you ahead of time – there are A LOT.

Airplane Photos

Here is one of the airplanes I flew in.  I loved being able to walk outside to get onto the plane!
Here is one of the airplanes I flew in. I loved being able to walk outside to get onto the plane!
Here is what it looked like inside of the plane!  Look!  We all had pillows!  I guess that means it is going to be a long flight!
Here is what it looked like inside of the plane! Look! We all had pillows! I guess that means it was going to be a long flight!
One of my many meals on the plane.  Yum!
One of my many meals on the plane. Yum!
Look at how amazing the clouds look from the airplane!  I love cloud pictures.
Look at how amazing the clouds look from the airplane! I love cloud pictures.

Boat Photos

This is a boat I rode for 2 hours to get to Isabela, the island where my friend is living.
This is a boat I rode for 2 hours to get to Isabela, the island where my friend is living.
This was on the 3 minute ferry ride from one island to the other.
This was on the 3 minute ferry ride from one island to the other.
Look at those motors!  We were kind of speedy.
Look at those motors! We were kind of speedy.
We always need to be safe on boats, right?
We always need to be safe on boats, right?

Lodging

This is the best photo of the house where I stayed.  Such a great house and in an amazing location (just minutes from the beach).
This is the best photo of the house where I stayed. Such a great house and in an amazing location (just minutes from the beach).
This is the kitchen, as you can tell.
This is the kitchen, as you can tell.
My friend and her roommates like to go surfing.
My friend and her roommates like to go surfing.
Here is my bedroom, after I packed up (which is why it is so bare).
Here is my bedroom, after I packed up (which is why it is so bare).

Sea Lion Photos

Sea lions love to lounge around.  This is the first one I saw on the trip.
Sea lions love to lounge around. This is the first one I saw on the trip.
Apparently these benches are for sea lions, not people.  These animals crack me up!
Apparently these benches are for sea lions, not people. These animals crack me up!
Eek . . . so cute!
Eek . . . so cute!
Look how cute they are!
Look how cute they are!
I wanted to get close, but not TOO close!  Notice that ALL of the sea lions are sleeping!
I wanted to get close, but not TOO close! Notice that ALL of the sea lions are sleeping!

Iguana Photos

Look at all of the iguanas under the bench!
Look at all of the iguanas under the bench!
Do you see this guy?  He is trying to camouflage himself, but I wasn't tricked!
Do you see this guy? He is trying to camouflage himself, but I wasn’t tricked!
Holy cow . . . he is BIG!
Holy cow . . . he is BIG!

Tortoise Photos

(I visited the tortoise breeding center on the island, so I got several opportunities to see these amazing creatures up close and personal.)

This tells you a bit about where the tortoises are located on the island.
This tells you a bit about where the tortoises are located on the island.
Look at all of the baby tortoises!
Look at all of the baby tortoises!
More babies!
More babies!
Look at this HUGE guy!
Look at this HUGE guy!
Another LARGE tortoise.  We became friends. :)
Another LARGE tortoise. We became friends. 🙂

Bird Photos

Flamingos . . . really?!? Yep, The Galapagos Islands have just about everything.
Flamingos . . . really?!? Yep, The Galapagos Islands have just about everything.
Here is another flamingo . . . he looks kind of lonely.
Here is another flamingo . . . he looks kind of lonely.
What a cool pelican, huh?  He was HUGE!
What a cool pelican, huh? He was HUGE!

Puppy Photos

(My friend’s dog just had puppies 5 days before I arrived . . . they were the sweetest  pups!  I couldn’t get enough of them, as you will see from the photos!)

Look at them all cuddling with one another!
Look at them all cuddling with one another!
Need I say more?  ADORABLE.
Need I say more? ADORABLE.
Look at his cute belly!
Look at his cute belly!
Eek . . . another adorable photo of this pup.
Eek . . . another adorable photo of this pup.
Sleeping . . .
Sleeping . . .
REALLY sleeping . . . with her mouth open!  (This is one of my favorite photos of ALL TIME!)
REALLY sleeping . . . with her mouth open! (This is one of my favorite photos of ALL TIME!)

Friend Photos

Uh-oh . . . this isn't a friend!  But, it is one of my favorite Ecuadorian snacks, so I thought you should see it!
Uh-oh . . . this isn’t a friend! But, it is one of my favorite Ecuadorian snacks, so I thought you might want to see it!  Yum!
Sarah and I went on a bike ride and ended up in this incredible place on the island.
Sarah and I went on a bike ride and ended up in this incredible place on the island.
I LOVE this family.  This is my Spanish teacher from Ecuador, Cesar, his wife, Paty, and their kids!  We got to hang out for awhile on my way back home.
I LOVE this family. This is my Spanish teacher, Cesar, from last year, his wife, Paty, and their beautiful kids! We got to hang out for awhile during one of my layovers.

Well . . . that’s it!  (You are probably thinking, “That’s it?  That took F-O-R-E-V-E-R!”)  Thanks for enduring this LONG post with many, many photos.  I hope you were able to get a glimpse of Ecuador and why I love the country as much as I do.  If you want to visit my blog from when I lived in Ecuador last year, you can get there by clicking here.  Until next time . . . hasta luego. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Ecuador: ¡Te quiero!

  1. Ms. Turken,

    How incredibly wonderful to see so many cool pics from your trip!!! My favorite is the one with you and sea lions – how fun is that! And, of course, the puppies are beyond cute – oh my goodness! I’m would have loved to have gone on the bike ride with you and Sarah; the area was absolutely gorgeous!!

    Thank you sharing such an incredible time in your life:)

    Jan Waters

    1. Dear Jan,
      Thank you so much for your kind words about the photos! It really is a beautiful place and I’m glad you enjoyed them. 🙂 See you soon!
      Your friend,
      Ms. Turken

Please comment about what you're thinking!

