Mucha Información

As promised, here is some more information for you about what has been happening in fifth grade.  Here’s the list of topics in this post.  I hope you enjoy reading about the life of your fifth grader – and a little bit about me. 🙂

  • REMINDER: Curriculum & iPad Night
  • Cahokia Field Trip
  • Mission Statements
  • Classroom Norms
  • Reading Stamina
  • EXTRA (?) Math Work
  • How to Revise a Classroom Schedule
  • My Current Blog Boundaries

REMINDER: Curriculum and iPad Night: Just a friendly reminder that next Tuesday, September 24 is the fifth grade Curriculum and iPad Night.  This will take place at Robinson from 6:30pm – 7:30pm.  The location at school is still being determined, but it will be clearly marked on the evening where you need to go.  I hope to see you then!

Cahokia Field Trip: We really did have a great time last week at Cahokia Mounds.  All 75 fifth graders, along with wonderful chaperones, visited the mounds.  The children took their iPad minis and had the job of taking pictures of items that represent community.  They made collages on their iPads and will be sharing them next week.  Below are some pictures from the day as we headed off to explore.  We hope these photos give you a glimpse from our wonderful day!

photo-5

photo-12 photo-11photo-10 photo-9 photo-8

Mission Statements: During the first weeks of school, we looked at mission statements from businesses we are familiar with and discussed the purpose.  Then, as a class, we created a mission statement of our own.  You can see that below.  It took a lot of conversation to agree upon the wording and priorities in our mission, but I think they did a fabulous job!  Soon enough, I gave each child the challenge of creating their own mission – for their own life.  Wow!  Their missions are incredible!  Feel free to stop by our classroom anytime to peruse through them.  In the meantime, you can see what they look like, since they are a focal point in our room.  Also, you can ask your child about his or her mission and why that is their goal.  My expectation is that they live both of these missions daily in our classroom and in their lives.

This is our classroom mission statement.
This is our classroom mission statement.
Here are the incredible mission statements that each fifth grader wrote!
Here are the incredible mission statements that each fifth grader wrote!

Classroom Norms: After much discussion and living in our classroom, we decided it was time to establish norms in our classroom (you might know these as rules).  I featured them on the last blog post, but here they are again.  You can see how mindful the children were when deciding what the norms are in our classroom.  Therefore, we (me, too!) will respect one another and make great choices – everyday – because we can do it!

Here are the norms that the children agreed to uphold in our classroom on a daily basis. (I know they are out of order here!  In the classroom they are in the correct order, I promise!)
Here are the norms that the children agreed to uphold in our classroom on a daily basis. (I know they are out of order here! In the classroom they are in the correct order, I promise!)

Reading Stamina: We work hard on building reading stamina in our classroom.  What this looks like is having a classroom of readers who are silent and engrossed in their books.  The students need to stay seated without interrupting others, in order to train their brain what it needs to do in order to read for extended periods of time.  We build our stamina daily by reading independently.  And, as the children know, I expect them to build their stamina at home, as well.  Click here for some further information about stamina and home strategies.

Screen Shot 2012-04-22 at 7.17.50 PM

EXTRA (?) Math Work: This week, we began having an additional 15 minutes of math in the afternoon.  During this time, Mr. Shelton comes into our room and he and I both work with small groups to guide a burst of additional math work.  We work on things such as multiplication facts and double-digit subtraction.  This time is simply another way for us to support your fifth grader with building a solid foundation in mathematics.

Here's one of the math groups that Mr. Shelton worked with during our additional math time in the afternoons.
Here’s one of the math groups that Mr. Shelton worked with during our additional math time in the afternoons.

How to Revise a Classroom Schedule: I got this idea from reading Mrs. Bearden’s post last week.  Sometimes, I wonder if families know what goes on behind the scenes for a teacher.  As I finished working on revising our classroom schedule the other day in order to make sure the needs of the students were being best met in the classroom, I took a look at my work area and laughed.  I had four different schedules (my computer too!)  in front of me just to make one classroom schedule.  Goofy!  Anyway, I don’t know if you’ll find it as funny as I did, but there’s always plenty going on behind the scenes for teachers. 🙂

My planning process to create a new schedule for my classroom.  Yeesh!
My planning process to create a new schedule for my classroom. Yeesh!

My Current Blog Boundaries: I have to be honest with you.  I LOVE writing blog posts because . . . it’s just really fun for me.  🙂 But . . . it takes me awhile to gather all of my thoughts and I have noticed it sometimes becomes a stress for me during the week.  Bummer!  So, I realized I needed to set a boundary with my blog posts for the time-being.  Therefore, I wanted to let you know that you will receive a post from me every Thursday – as a summary from week about what we learned and how to best support your fifth grader.  There might be times that I send additional updates throughout the week, but for now, I want to promise you that you will receive blog posts on Thursdays, at the least.  Thank you for understanding this difficult decision.  I hope that the blog posts will continue to strengthen my communication with you.  If you have any questions, please let me know.

2 thoughts on “Mucha Información

Please comment about what you're thinking!

