¡Feliz Martes!

¡Feliz Martes! = Happy Tuesday!

An incredible quote discussed and CREATED by one of our fabulous fifth graders today!
An incredible quote discussed and CREATED by one of our fabulous fifth graders today!

I hope you and your family are having a great week.  We are doing well in fifth grade, however, I am noticing that many of us are going through an “adjustment period” with our return to school.  Today is officially our one week “anniversary” since we’ve been back.  But it wasn’t really until yesterday and today that it began to get HARD for many of the children in my classroom.  When I say hard, I mean that a little bit before lunch and a little bit before the end of day the children (and I!) get tired because we need more stamina!  Granted, our classroom has been a little warm too, so that doesn’t help.  Anyway, the children are learning to get through it and work hard . . . even when they don’t feel like it.  Particularly because this is a great skill for all of us (me too!) to learn since there are times in all of our lives when we have to work, even when we are tired or hungry . . . right?

With that being said, I am trying to be mindful with our planning by having plenty of activities involving movement, while beginning to develop a more consistent routine during our day.  This is a hard balance, I must admit, but I continue to try new things and learn what works best for the children in our room on daily basis.

As I am learning what works well for the children, they are also learning about how they learn best.  You might be wondering how . . . well, let me tell you.  We began by discussing the truth that we are all 100% smart.  Meaning that we all have oodles of intelligence inside of us . . .  simply in different configurations.  I believe in the theory of multiple intelligences, which states that there are key areas in which we all have our smarts.  Click here to learn more about multiple intelligences.  (By the way, the link talks about nine intelligences, but for some reason, we only discussed eight.  Weird.)  We took a survey to learn about ways we learn best and then made pie charts to display our preferences. (Some of the children will finish them tomorrow.)  Below is a photo of Treston working on his pie chart so he could demonstrate the configuration of his intelligences.  I will use this information to help plan for our learning activities and I hope that the children will use this information to have a better idea of who they are as individuals and how they learn best.

photo-4 copyAs you know, this Friday (a half-day of school) is our field trip to the ropes course at Westchester Elementary School.  I don’t think that we have ever taken this trip in August with the fifth graders, but I am excited for the opportunity for all three classrooms to work together and problem solve as teammates.  I am excited to experience this day with these amazing kiddos and will be sure to write about the day sometime shortly thereafter.

Again, I thank you for your support up to this point, as I have truly appreciated (and needed) it.  Again, if there is anything you need from me personally, don’t hesitate to call or email me at school.  I am always available for you. (I really mean that!)  In the meantime, I will continue to communicate with you through this blog.

Have a wonderful week and enjoy your time with your fifth grader – I know I do! 🙂

Please comment about what you're thinking!

