Learning, Learning and MORE Learning!

How is it even possible for so much learning to be taking place when school hasn’t even started yet?  Well . . . this is because the learning that is taking place is mine – for right now, at least. 🙂  In a week, the learning will be for both myself, my students, and their families – whom I am excited to meet this week at Open House.

imagesMy day began in a meeting where I learned how to better assess my students’ reading skills.  Other teachers and I discussed an assessment program, Fountas and Pinnell, we have available in our district.  We talked about the opportunities we have, as teachers, to gain a better understanding of what kind of reader each student is and how to guide our teaching based on their current reading skills.  (We have other reading assessments too, this is simply another way to gain knowledge about our students.)  With this assessment piece added to our toolboxes, we can truly individualize our classroom instruction for each student’s needs.  Exciting, huh?

I believe this assessment piece will be extremely helpful this year because we all want to help our students become better readers so they can get just as excited about reading as we do!  After all, when kids (and adults) get excited about reading, it truly opens up the door to learn about anything in our incredible world!  When we learn more about the world in which we live, we can identify our passions more clearly and where we can make a difference, today and into the future.

After this meeting, I worked on organizing a few more things in the classroom and then met with my fifth grade teaching team, Mrs. Bearden and Mrs. Hong.  We discussed our plans for Open House and strategies to begin the school year with our students.  We talked about methods to build a strong classroom community, so each student is aware of his or her importance in the classroom and how we need each person to function as a powerful, positive unit.  I had lots of “ah-ha” moments and am excited to begin implementing these thoughts when school begins next Tuesday.

Until then, however, my hope is that we all (teachers, parents and students) continue to savor our days and be present with everything that we do.  I desire to feel peaceful during the coming days and weeks and hope to remember the many blessings I have in my life.  I hope you continue to remember these too.  Have a great day!

4 thoughts on “Learning, Learning and MORE Learning!

  1. LOVE that I’m on this learning journey with you! And believe me–it really will last all the way until the last day of the year. These fabulous 5th graders of ours will teach us something new every day! 🙂

  2. We are so excited for 5th grade!!!! We enjoyed the open house and look forward to a great year of learning and fun! Thanks for the blog and keeping us informed! Don’t hesitate to let us know if you need anything 🙂

    1. Hi Tasha and Zoe! It’s great to hear from you and I loved seeing you the other night! I am really excited to start on Tuesday and hope you are too! Thanks for the offer to let you know if I need anything for the classroom. I might just do that someday! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

Please comment about what you're thinking!

