First Fifth Grade Post!

Hello there!  Welcome to our classroom blog.

I continue to build excitement for the upcoming school year and have been working really hard in our classroom to get it ready for each of the wonderful students that are going to be here this year

If you haven’t met me yet, I’m Ms. Turken, a fifth grade teacher in Kirkwood, Missouri.  This is my 8th year of teaching and I have an exciting learning opportunity ahead of me this school year.  In the past, I have taught first grade, second grade, and English to both children and adults.  This is the first time I’ll be teaching fifth grade, but truly believe that my prior teaching experiences have prepared me for this year.

As a technology explorer, this is my second time having a blog.  My first was during my ten months in Ecuador.  As a matter of fact, I just wrote the last post on that site today.  If you’d like to read about my time in Ecuador, please do so at http://www.im4ecuador.wordpress.com

My hope is that this blog will give my students and their families insight into what we do in our classroom on a frequent basis.  I also hope that this site will clearly communicate my reflections on teaching throughout the year and the opportunities for growth – both for my students and for myself.

Please partner with me on this journey and let’s see where it takes us!

10 thoughts on “First Fifth Grade Post!

  1. I am so excited you will continue to blog! Loved reading about your new adventures in Ecuador and now, the possibly more challenging but exciting events in store as a 5th grade teacher! All the best getting ready, Rachael :). Hugs, Leah

    1. Hi Leah! How are you doing out west? I must say that even though we only taught together for one year, I know I am going to miss you this year. I wish you the absolute best throughout your year and hope to keep in touch! Have a wonderful weekend Leah!

  2. I know I have said this to you in person but…Welcome Back! Robinson is very lucky to have you here. What lucky and blessed students to have you guide them through 5th grade. I ran into one of your students today and he was so excited because he was going to learn all about Ecuador. He said he knew you were awesome because he’s had you before! 🙂

  3. Way to go Ms. Turken! Way to jump in. I can’t wait for your students and families to read and enjoy your blog; I know they will get a lot out of it. I am trying to hold myself accountable to my blog too; maybe we can help each other out. Any ideas on how we might do that?

    1. Thanks for your kind words Jennifer. As for holding ourselves accountable . . . I think that it goes back to goal-setting. We can talk more and see what each of our individual goals are with our blogs next time we sit down to chat. See you SOON!

Please comment about what you're thinking!

